# Lord Mayor Selection Committee

### Friday 26 February 2021

## PRESENT:

Councillor Sam Davey, in the Chair. Councillors Coker (substitute for Councillor Tudor Evans OBE), Downie, James, Kelly and Murphy.

Apology for absence: Councillor Tudor Evans OBE.

Also in attendance: Andrew Loton (Head of Governance, Performance and Risk) and Elizabeth Olver (Civic Support Co-ordinator).

The meeting started at 10.00 am and finished at 10.10 am.

Note: At a future meeting, the committee will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

#### 1. To Note the Appointment of the Chair

The Committee noted the appointment of Councillor Sam Davey as the Chair for the municipal year 2021/22.

#### 2. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest made by Councillors in accordance with the code of conduct.

#### 3. Minutes

The Committee agreed that the minutes of the meeting held on 14 February 2020 are confirmed as a correct record.

#### 4. Lord Mayoralty 2021/22

The Committee sought nominations for the Lord Mayoralty 2021/22. Having been nominated by Councillor Kelly and seconded by Councillor James, it was <u>agreed</u> unanimously to extend a cordial invitation to Councillor Mrs Terri Beer to accept the Office of Lord Mayor for the following municipal year.

Councillors waited upon Councillor Mrs Terri Beer who, on arrival, expressed her appreciation at the nomination which she was delighted to accept.

<u>Agreed</u> that it is unanimously recommended to City Council that it approves the appointment of Councillor Mrs Terri Beer as Lord Mayor for the 2021/22 municipal year.

This page is intentionally left blank